Match Report: Perera and Captain Mushfiq drag the Bulls to victory


The Barisal Bulls have registered their first win in the AKS BPL T20 2016 as they defeated the Comilla Victorians by 7 wickets who have undergone consecutive second loss. After restricting the defending champions to 129, BB stumbled on a few occasions but responsible knocks from the skipper Mushfiqur Rahim and Thisara Perera ensured their side to get past the line with 9 balls to spare.

Dilshan Munaweera and Shamsur Rahman started the chase well for the Bulls, albeit both of them perished their wickets soon after reaching the double-digit. With David Malan, Mushfiq then repaired the early losses. Malan was dismissed for 26 before Thisara Perera joined Mushi in the middle. A 49-runs stand between them kept the match in the Bulls’ favor. Mushfiq was caught behind for 33 off 23 but Perera made it through the finish line remaining unbeaten on 34 off 20.

Earlier in the evening, Comilla had a slippery start as they lost their first wicket before opening the account. Taijul beat Imrul with turn and disturbed his stumps. Khalid Latif and Nazmul Hossain Shanto arrested the slip briefly before Mushfiq caught a steepler as Latif top edged a length ball from Abu Haider Rony. Nazmul-Samuels pair then seemed to put their side on course. However, enough composed Nazmul (11) was sacrificed by Samuels who called for an apparently impossible single.

After couple of quick losses, Samuels got company in Sohail Tanvir with whom he made a 38-runs stand which actually took them past 100. After Samuels’s 48, Sohail Tanvir posted unbeaten 30 off 19 balls to bring up a modest total of 129.

Brief Scores:

Comilla Victorians 129/8, 20 overs (Samuels 48, Sohail Tanvir 30*; Abu Haider 2/34); Barisal Bulls 130/4, 18.3 overs (Perera 34*, Mushfiq 33; Nabil Samad 1/12)

Result: Barisal Bulls won by 6 wickets

Man of the match: Thisara Perera (Barisal Bulls)