Match Report: RR bowlers hold nerve to deny BB in thriller


The Rangpur Riders have come back winning a last over contest as they defeat the Barisal Bulls by 12 runs. Setting a target of 176, the Riders wrapped up the Bulls for 163 with 2 balls remaining.

In pursuit of an uphill climbing, BB had a awful start losing their first wicket off the very first ball. They were reduced to 18 for 2 when Shahzad performed a sharp glove-work to dismiss Shahriar Nafees. Captain Mushfiqur Rahim also fell early to make things more tougher. Nonetheless, 70 runs off 50 balls between Nadif Chowdhury and Jeevan Mendis kept the Bulls’ hope alive. However, Shahid Afridi cleaned up both of them to regain back dominance. But the game was not over yet as some late lifting from Thisara Perera and Rayad Emrit swayed the match to both side. Rubel Hossain, passing a nightmare on ground field, gave the breakthrough by bowling out Rayad Emrit. A down the wicket over boundary from Taijul created some late suspense as 13 were needed from 4. But he was stumped off the immediate ball and then Al-Amin was run out to hand the Riders a 12-runs win. Perera had nothing to do as he was not out on 17 on the other end.

Earlier in the evening, Taijul got rid of the two Rangpur openers to reduce them to 46-2. Mohammad Mithun and Liam Dawson then stitched a 78 runs partnership off 56 balls to lift the score to 124 in 14.2 overs. Mithun getting bowled by Perera after putting 62 off 44 balls, with 6 fours and 2 sixes, Shahid Afridi joined Dawson in the Middle to play a cameo of 22 from 10, taking the aerial route on two occasions. Dawson posted 46 off 36 with 3 fours and 1 six before getting dismissed at the death. RR eventually finished on 175/6.

Brief Scores:

Rangpur Riders 175/6, 20 overs (Mithun 62, Dawson 46; Taijul 2/27, Perera 2/31); Barisal Bulls 163/10, 19.4 overs (Jeevan Mendis 57, Nadif 41; Sohag Gazi 3/19)

Result: Rangpur Raiders won by 12 runs

Player of the Match: Mohammad Mithun (Rangpur Rides)