Match Report: Rangpur firm on 2nd as Comilla continue to sink


The Rangpur Riders have clinched their 4th win in the AKS BPL T20 2016 while Comilla continue with their losing streak as they conceded 6th defeat of the season and yet to register a win. Stranding Comilla on 122/5, Rangpur knocked off the runs from 17 overs and with 9 wickets remaining.

In pursuit of 123, Rangpur openers were cautious with the bat before Soumya getting caught by Rashid Khan off Mashrafe’s over for 22. However, Mohammad Shahzad and Mohammad Mithun sailed the ship rest of the way to home without any further loss. Shahzad was not out on 51 off 49 with 2 fours and 3 sixes and Mithun on 45 from 39 with 1 four and 3 sixes.

Earlier in the evening, Comilla had a sluggish start and lost Imrul off the 3rd over. Anwar Ali then caught Liton Das short of his ground to reduce Comilla to 21 for 2. Ahmed Shehzad and Samuels stood firm to stitch 64 runs together, albeit slowly off 62 balls. Shehzad then holed out to Afridi at cover off a fuller on off stump from Anwar Ali, posting 52 off 45 with 4 fours and 1 six. Samuels attempted a final fling hitting Anwar and Rubel on few occasions which eventually saw them finishing on 122/5. Samuels was caught with one ball to spare on 52 off 46 balls bashing 3 fours and 2 sixes.

Brief Scores:

Comilla Victorians 122/5, 20 overs (Shehzad 52, Samuels 52; Rubel 2/27); Rangpur Riders 126/9, 17 overs (Shahzad 51*, Mithun 45*; Mashrafe 1/20)

Result: Rangpur Riders won by 9 wickets

Player of the Match: Mohammad Shahzad (Rangpur Riders)