Match Report: Riders turn around to end Bulls’ season


Rangpur Riders have turned around to put themselves on the playoff run as they defeat Barisal Bulls by 29 runs and consequently end hope for both the Barisal Bulls and Comilla Victorians. Posting a total of 154, the Riders demolished the Bulls for 125.

Opting to bat first, Rangpur Riders rode on the back of their top order as they scored 105/1 from 14.1 overs. After Soumya’s 17 off 12, Mohammad Shahzad and Mohammad Mithun put 76 run together from 63 balls. Shahzad missed his 3rd fifty of the season for 2 runs as he was trapped in front by Rayad Emrit. Shahid Afridi, after lofting a short ball for six over long-on, holed the immediate delivery from Kamrul Islam Rabbi to Shahriar Nafees at mid-off. Mithun was dismissed in the following over for 38 (caught Taijul bowled Perera) reducing his side to 118/4. A final blow from Ziaur Rahman (23* off 17) lifted the total to 154/5 at the end. For the Bulls, Kamrul Islam Rabbi and Thisara Perera scalped 2 wickets each.

Chasing down the target, BB were reduced to 29 for 3 as Shohag Gazi dismissed Emrit and Mushfiqur and then Naeem trapped Mendis in front. Malan and Fazle Mahmud attempted a comeback, however, both were dismissed within 4 balls for 30 and 21 with 68/5 on the card. Another partnership between Shahriar Nafees and Thisara Perera kept the hope alive for the Bulls until Dawson and Afridi got rid of them for 14 and 24, reducing BB to 109/7. Their innings was eventually wrapped up for 125 with 10 balls remaining.

Brief Scores:

Rangpur Riders 154/5, 20 overs (Shahzad 48, Mithun 38; Perera 2/26, Rabbi 2/11) ; Barisal Bulls 125, 18.2 overs (Malan 56, Mahmud 30, Perera 24; Dawson 2/11)

Result: Rangpur Riders won by 29 runs

Player of the Match: Mohammad Shahzad (Rangpur Riders)