Darren Sammy triumphs over Chris Gayle


A scintillating Rajshahi Kings side have survived their first eliminator to bash out the Chittagong Vikings from the tournament defeating them by 3 wickets. After restricting the opponents 142/8 courtesy a clinical spell from Kesrick Williams, it was Kings’ commander Darren Sammy who got them past the finish line from 18.3 overs and 3 wickets remaining.

Put into bat first, Tamim and Gayle piloted the run scoring for the Vikings as the duo made 74 runs together off 50 balls after Dwayne Smith fell early prey to Kesrick Williams. Gayle hinted to storm today scoring 44 off 29 balls with 2 fours and 5 sixes before Franklin outsmarted him with a slower full toss around off stump which he lofted down to the throat of Farhad Reza at long-on. Reza then dismissed Malik who was taken brilliantly by Mizar at cover point for 14.  One over later, Tamim was caught by Samit Patel off a slower delivery outside off stump from Kesrick Williams. The Caribbean man then broke the backbone of the Vikings lower middle order to claim 3 (one run out) from his final over. A score one seemed to get well past 160 could merely reach 142 for 8 at the end. Kesrick Williams scalped 4 Vikings conceding only 11 runs from his four over spell.

Chasing down the total, RK started it clumsily as Mominul and Afif threw away their wickets, latter one for a duck. Sabbir joined them to make things more tougher for the Kings reducing them to 39 for 3.  Nabi bowling out Samit Patel, Saqlain Sajib strangled RK more with his double strike to remove Nurul Hasan for 34 and Franklin for 2. The Kings literally floundering on 57/6, skipper Sammy took the responsibility on his back. He opened his account smashing Mohammad Nabi for back-to-back three boundaries. His stroke-powered innings went on to keep RK much well in the fight as he brought up his fifty from just 23 balls. He eventually shrunk the winning equation from 86 off 54 with 4 wickets remaining to 21 from 18. From there, he sailed the ship home, accompanied by Farhad Reza, with 9 balls to spare and 3 wickets remaining. Sammy was not out on 55 from 27 with 7 fours and 2 sixes.

Brief Scores:

Chittagong Vikings 142/8, 20 overs (Tamim 51, Gayle 44; Williams 4/11, Reza 2/26 ); Rajshahi Kings 143/7, 18.3 overs (Sammy 55*, Nurul 34, Reza 13*; Sajib 2/24, Shuvashish 2/28)

Result: Rajshahi Kings won by 3 wickets

Player of the Match: Darren Sammy (Rajshahi Kings)