Bangladesh level the series with emphatic win


Bangladesh : 176/9 in 20 overs (Shakib 38, Imrul 36, Soumya 34, Malinga 4/34, Gunaratne 1/15, Perera 1/24)

Sri Lanka : 131/10 in 18 overs (Kapugedara 50, T. Perera 23, Tharanga 23, Mustafizur 4/21, Shakib 3/24, Mahmudullah 1/15)

Result : Bangladesh won by 45 runs.

All round performance from the batsmen and bowlers helped Bangladesh to beat Sri Lanka by 45 runs in the final match of the series and give Skipper Mashrafe Bin Mortaza a perfect farewell in T20I. With this win, Bangladesh also level the series 1-1.

Earlier Mashrafe Bin Mortaza won the toss and decided to bat first in his final International T2O. Imrul Kayes and Soumya Sarkar gave Bangladesh a solid start and added 71 runs in the opening partnership. Asela Gunaratne broke this partnership and got rid of Soumya Sarkar on 34.

Imrul Kayes was run out on 36 in the next over. Sabbir Rahman and Shakib Al Hasan’s 46 run partnership in the 3rd wicket was ended with the wicket of Sabbir on 19. Couple of overs later Nuwan Kulasekara bowled Shakib out on 38.

Next batsman Mosaddek Hossain was dismissed on 17. Lasith Malinga struck thrice in the 19th over and picked up his maiden T2OI hat-trick with the wickets of Mushfiqur Rahim, Mashrafe Bin Mortaza and Mehidy Hasan.

Bangladesh posted 176 for 9 after 20 overs as Saif Uddin was run out on 6 in the last ball of the innings. Malinga picked up 4 wickets for 34.

In reply Sri Lanka didn’t have an ideal start as Shakib Al Hasan gave the first breakthrough to Bangladesh in the first over and bowled Kusal Perera out on 4. Shakib struck again in his next over with the wicket of Dilshan Munaweera on 4.

Mahmudullah got rid of Upul Tharanga on 23. Mustafizur Rahman picked up the wickets of Asela Gunaratne and Milinda Siriwardana in his first over.

Then Chamara Kapugedara and Thisara Perera added 58 runs and repaired the early damage. Shakib returned to the attack and got rid of Perera on 27.

Mashrafe Bin Mortaza got his first wicket in his last over and dismissed Sekkugee Prasanna on 11. Mustafizur picked up the wicket of Kapugedara next over on 50. He struck again in the same over and bowled Lasith Malinga out on 0. Saif Uddin dismissed the last batsman Sanjaya on 6.

Both team also shared the Test and ODI series 1-1.