Mustafizur new icon in BPL


BPL Governing Council today hosted a press conference discussing various issues on Bangladesh Premier League’s (BPL) 5th edition. Secretary of BPL Governing Council, Ismail Haider Mallick spoke to the media in the event. Nizam Uddin Chowdhury ( CEO, Bangladesh Cricket Board), Mohammed Jalal Yunus (Chairman, Media and Communications), Md. Akram Khan (Chairman, Cricket Operations Committee) and Lokman Hossain Bhuiyan (Chairman, Facilities Management) were also present in the conference.

1. Teams can field maximum 5 foreign players in this year’s edition of BPL. Minimum 3 players must be in the starting eleven. Previously teams were allowed to field maximum 4 foreign players.

2. Mustafizur Rahman declared as the new Icon player. This is the first time Mustafizur elected as Icon player.

3. Every team can retain maximum 4 players from last year’s team.

4. This year’s BPL is expected to kick-off from 2nd November.

5. New Franchise of Sylhet return to BPL after a break. Sylhet can be another venue to the list though nothing is confirmed yet.