Bangladesh seals historic win over Australia

MIRPUR, BANGLADESH - AUGUST 30: Bangladesh celebrate after they defeated Australia during day four of the First Test match between Bangladesh and Australia at Shere Bangla National Stadium on August 30, 2017 in Mirpur, Bangladesh. (Photo by Robert Cianflone/Getty Images)

Bangladesh (1st innings) : 260 in 78.5 overs (Shakib 84, Tamim 71, Nasir 23; Agar 3/46, Cummins 3/63, Lyon 3/79)

Australia (1st innings) : 217 in 74.5 overs (Renshaw 45, Agar 41*, Handscomb 33; Shakib 5/68, Mehidy 3/62, Taijul 1/32)

Bangladesh (2nd innings) : 221 in 74 overs (Tamim 78, Mushfiqur 41, Mehidy 26; Lyon 6/82, Agar 2/55, Cummins 1/38)

Australia (2nd innings) : 244 in 70.5 overs (Warner 112, Smith 37, Cummins 33*; Shakib 5/85, Taijul 3/60, Mehidy 2/80)

Result : Bangladesh won by 20 runs.

Man of the Match : Shakib Al Hasan

Spinners scripted a historic 20 runs victory for Bangladesh against Australia in the first Rocket Test. Bangladesh lead the 2-match series 1-0.

Shakib’s second 5-wicket haul in the match inspired Bangladesh to a dramatic win in the fourth day of the first Test. It was the first ever win for Bangladesh against Australia in Test.

Australia started the fourth day on 109/2. Shakib gave the much needed breakthrough for Bangladesh and broke the 130 runs partnership between David Warner and Steve Smith. Shakib trapped Warner lbw on 112. Couple of overs later, Shakib struck again and got rid of Steve Smith on 37.

Taijul Islam took the wicket of Peter Handscomb on 15. Shakib took the wicket of Matthew Wade on the other end. Then Ashton Agar was dismissed by Taijul just before the lunch. Australia were at 195/7 at lunch.

Shakib bowled Glenn Maxwell on 14 in the first ball after lunch. It was Shakib’s 17th 5-wicket and 2nd 10-wicket haul in a Test match. But Pat Cummins and Nathan Lyon’s 29 runs partnership in the 9th wicket put the pressure back on tigers. It was Mehidy who broke the partnership in his return spell. Soumya Sarkar took the catch of Lyon after he scored 12.

But Cummins hammered 2 sixes in one over of Mehidy and again pressure was back to Bangladesh. Taijul finally grabbed the wicket of last batsman Josh Hazlewood and sealed a nail-biting victory for Bangladesh.

2nd and final Test will start from 4th September at Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium, Chittagong.