AKS Bangladesh Premier League to start from Saturday


The fifth edition of AKS Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) Powered by Shah Cement starts from tomorrow (Saturday) at Sylhet International Cricket Stadium, Sylhet. Defending champion Dhaka Dynamites will face Sylhet Sixers in the opening match of the tournament. On the second match of the day last year’s runner-up Rajshahi Kings will take on Rangpur Riders.

Dhaka Dynamites, Rajshahi Kings, Khulna Titans, Rangpur Riders, Comilla Victorians, Chittagong Vikings and Sylhet Sixers are the seven participant teams this year. Sylhet Sixers is the new addition replacing Barisal Bulls from last year.

This year matches will be played on three venues across the country. Sylhet International Cricket Stadium (SICS), Sylhet is the latest venue after Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium (SBNCS) and Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium (ZACS), Chittagong.

It will be the first time in BPL history when two channels from Bangladesh will telecast the match live. Gazi TV (GTV) and Maasranga Television are the two official broadcast partner for this year’s BPL. Rabbithole app will also provide live streaming for both Android and iOS users.

Each team can field maximum five foreign players in the playing eleven in this year. Previously four players were allowed to play in the eleven.

The 39-day tournament will end on December 12 following the final at SBNCS.