Kings beat their North Bengal rivals


Rangpur Riders : 134/5 in 20 overs (Bopara 54*, Shahriar 23, Ziaur 11*; Farhad Reza 2/28, Franklin 1/14, Mehidy 1/19)

Rajshahi Kings : 138/2 in 16.4 overs (Mominul 63*, Simmons 53, Rony Talukdar 10; T. Perera 1/12)

Result : Rajshahi Kings won by 8 wickets.

Man of the Match : Mominul Haque (Rajshahi Kings)

Rajshahi Kings clinched their first victory in the AKS Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) T20 2017 by beating Rangpur Riders by 8 wickets.


After winning the toss, Mashrafe Bin Mortaza elected to bat first at Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium (SBNCS). Rangpur Riders had a slow start as they lost couple of early wickets. Apart from Ravi Bopara’s unbeaten half-century no other batsmen stood out as Rangpur managed to post 134 for 5 in 20 overs. Bopara remained not out on 54. Farhad Reza picked up 2 wickets for 28.

In reply Mominul Haque and Lendl Simmons gave Rajshahi Kings a decent start. Mominul Haque scored the first half-century by a Bangladeshi batsmen in this edition of BPL. After the departure of Simmons on 53, Malcolm Waller was also dismissed early. Rajshahi finally chased down the target of 135 in 16.4 overs with 8 wickets in hand. Mominul was unbeaten on 63 off 44 balls and named man of the match.