Bangladesh to face Sri Lanka on Wednesday


The 2-match Rocket Test series between Bangladesh and Sri Lanka starts tomorrow (Wednesday) at Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium, Chittagong. Ahead of the Test series, Sri Lanka won the Tri-Nation ODI Series by beating Bangladesh in the final.

In the absence of regular captain Shakib Al Hasan, Mahmudullah will lead the side for the first time. Mahmudullah will be the 10th Test captain for Bangladesh. Shakib Al Hasan has ruled out of the first Test due to a finger injury in the Tri-nation series final.

Bangladesh team maintained a good record in home recently in Test started with 1-1 series drawn against England in 2016. Bangladesh also drawn their last home Test series against Australia 1-1. Tigers will look forward to continue their good run in the Test in home and trouble Sri Lanka in the series.

So far Bangladesh played 18 Tests against Sri Lanka. Bangladesh have won once, drawn two matches and lost 15 matches. Bangladesh clinched their first Test victory over against Sri Lanka in the last year at Colombo. On the occasion of Bangladesh’s 100th Test, Tigers beat Sri Lanka by 4 wickets.

Among the two teams, Kumar Sangakkara scored highest 1816 runs from 15 matches. For Bangladesh, Mohammad Ashraful scored 1090 runs from 13 matches.

In bowling, Muttiah Muralitharan picked up highest 89 wickets from 11 matches. Shakib took 29 wickets from 7 matches for Bangladesh.

Match will start from 9.30 am local time.