Liton-Warner power Sylhet comprehensive win


Match 18, Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) T20 2019

Sylhet Sixers vs Rangpur Riders

Sylhet Sixers : 187/5 in 20 overs (Liton 70, Warner 61*, Pooran 26; Shafiul 3/31, Howell 1/22)

Rangpur Riders : 160/6 in 20 overs (Rossouw 58, Mithun 35, Mashrafe 33*; Taskin 2/34, Mehedi Rana 2/40, Lamichhane 1/18)

Result :  Sylhet Sixers won by 27 runs.

Player of the Match : Liton Kumar Das (Sylhet Sixers).

Two blistering knock from Liton Kumar Das and skipper David Warner helped Sylhet Sixers to clinch their second win in UCB BPL 2019 beating defending champion Rangpur Riders by 27 runs at Sylhet. This win put Sylhet them off from the bottom of the table. Despite the defeat, Rangpur are at the fifth spot for better run-rates than Sylhet.

Batting first, new opening pair Liton and Sabbir Rahman gave Sylhet a flying start as they put 73 runs in 8.3 overs before Benny Howell trapped Sabbir for 20. Rest of the Sixers innings was all about Liton and David Warner as both scored two blistering fifties. Liton was dismissed after scoring 70 of 43 balls while Warner remained unbeaten on 61 off 36 balls.

Nicholas Pooran chipped in with 26 as Sixers posted a total of 187 for 5 in 20 overs. Shafiul Islam picked up 3 wickets for 31 for Rangpur.

Riders had an poor start by losing three quick wickets for 11 including two big-hitter Chris Gayle and Alex Hales. Since then tournaments top scorer so far, Rilee Rossouw and Mohammad Mithun’s 89-run stand brought the Riders back in the game. But Taskin Ahmed’s double strike to got rid both of them in two overs eased the pressure from the Sixers.

Mashrafe Bin Mortaza batted till the last over and not out on 27 as his side managed to score 160 for 7 in 20 overs to suffer their fourth defeat in the campaign. Taskin and Mehedi Hasan Rana shared two wickets each.

Liton Kumar Das was named the Player of the Match.