Media Release : 39th National Cricket Championship starts on February 27


The 39th edition of the National Cricket Championship (NCC) will start tomorrow (27 February) at 16 venues across the country. Sixty-four district teams will participate in the limited overs competition. The teams are competing in a two-tier, Tier 1 and Tier 2, format with each tier consisting of 32 teams equally split into eight group.

TIER 1: This is a single league competition with top finisher of each group of Tier 1 qualifying for the second round and the bottom team relegated to Tier 2 for the next season of NCC. The eight group toppers will be placed in two groups of four teams with the group champions fighting it out in the final.

TIER 2: The top teams from each group will get prompted to Tier 1 for the next season. There is no second round in Tier 2.