Bangladesh face South Africa in first match of World Cup


Bangladesh Squad : Mashrafe Bin Mortaza (Captain), Tamim Iqbal, Soumya Sarkar, Liton Kumar Das, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mohammad Mithun, Mahmudullah, Sabbir Rahman, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Rubel Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman, Mohammad Saifuddin, Mosaddek Hossain, Abu Jayed Rahi.

Bangladesh to kick off the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 campaign with the match against South Africa on June 2 (Sunday) at the Oval. Prior to the opening match, Bangladesh played two warm-up matches. First match against Pakistan was abandoned due to rain and India won the second match by 95 runs.

The Bangladesh team led by Mashrafe Bin Mortaza, recently enjoyed success in the ODIs where they clinched first ever multi-nation title in the last month at Ireland. Tigers ended the tournament unbeaten. Quarter-finalist of 2015 World Cup, Bangladesh team will eye to a perfect start by carrying the recent form against the Proteas.

So far the two teams faced each other 21 times in this format. Bangladesh won 3 of them while South Africa won 18. Other match was abandoned. While in ICC Cricket World Cup, Bangladesh faced South Africa twice and secured victory in the first meeting in 2007 which was overall Bangladesh first victory against them. South Africa then won the next encounter in 2011.

Shakib Al Hasan is the leading run-scorer for the Tigers against South Africa in ODIs. He scored 322 runs in 13 matches. With the ball, Rubel Hossain enjoyed better success than any other bowlers who scalped 12 wickets in 6 matches.

The match will start from 3:30 pm (Bangladesh time).