Bangladesh lost nail biting thriller against New Zealand


ICC Cricket World Cup 2019, Match 9

Bangladesh vs New Zealand

Kennington Oval, London

Bangladesh : 244/10 in 49.2 overs (Shakib 64, Saifuddin 29, Soumya 25; Henry 4/47, Boult 2/44, de Grandhomme 1/39)

New Zealand : 248/8 in 47.1 overs (Taylor 82, Williamson 40, Guptill 25; Mosaddek 2/33, Saifuddin 2/41, Shakib 2/47, Miraz 2/47)

Result : New Zealand won by 2 wickets.

Player of the Match : Ross Taylor.

Bangladesh suffered their first defeat in the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 against New Zealand in a thriller at The Oval. New Zealand won the match by 2 wickets. Bangladesh will face the hosts England in their next match at Sophia Gardens, Cardiff on June 8.

Bangladesh played the match with the unchanged playing eleven from the last match against South Africa. New Zealand opted to bowl first after winning the toss. After a good start, Soumya Sarkar got out on 25 and his partner Tamim Iqbal too followed him after scoring 24. Shakib Al Hasan then picked up his second consecutive fifty in the tournament. But on the other end New Zealand bowlers kept taking wickets to put more pressure.

Mohammad Mithun and Mahmudullah both got the start bit failed to convert it into the big innings. At the end, Saifuddin’s 29-run knock helped Bangladesh to post a formidable total of 244 before bowled in the 50th overs. Matt Henry bagged 4 wickets for 47.

In reply, the Black Caps were off to a flying start before Shakib removed the both opener Martin Guptill and Colin Munro. Then a determined Ross Taylor along with Kane Williamson made an game-changing 105 runs stand and made the chase looked easy. But Mehidy Hasan Miraz had other idea who got rid of Williamson and Tom Latham in a same over to brought his side in the game. Mosaddek Hossain followed it up with the dismissal of Taylor on 82.

Saifuddin also fought very hard till the end by scalping two wickets in the later overs which created some outside hope for Bangladesh to win the match. But Mitchell Santner hold his nerve with a unbeaten 17 runs knock to help his team winning the match by 2 wickets and 17 balls remaining. Mosaddek, Saifuddin, Shakib and Miraz shared two wickets each for Bangladesh