Afif heroics power Bangladesh to win against Zimbabwe


Bangladeh vs Zimbabwe

Tri-Nation T20I Tournament, Match 1

Zimbabwe : 144/5 in 18 overs (18 overs per side) (Burl 57*, Masakadza 34, Motumbodzi 27; Mosaddek 1/10, Saifuddin 1/26, Taijul 1/26)

Bangladesh : 148/7 in 17.4 overs (Target 145 in 18 overs) (Afif 52, Mosaddek 30*, Liton 19; Madziva 2/25, Jarvis 2/31, Chatara 2/32)

Result : Bangladesh won by 3 wickets.

Player of the Match : Afif Hossain

Tigers are off to a winning start in the Tri-Nation T20I Tournament with a 3-wicket win over Zimbabwe at Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium. Afif Hossain stars with the bat as his blistering fifty guided Bangladesh to the victory with 2 balls remaining in the chase. Bangladesh will face Afghanistan in their next match on September 15.

Chasing 145 in 18 overs, Bangladesh were in trouble in the power-play after losing 4 wickets for just 29. Mahmudullah and Sabbir Rahman also got out cheaply as the visitors were sniffing victory as Bangladesh were reduced to 60 for 6.

But all-rounder Afif Hossain, playing his second T20I had other idea. Afif started his innings with a boundary to lead the counter attack with Mosaddek Hossain as the pair made an match-winning 82-run partnership in the seventh wicket which all but ensured the win.

Afif was dismissed after scoring 52 off just 26 balls including 8 fours and 1 six. Mohammad Saifuddin hit boundary to seal victory with 2 balls remaining. Mosaddek was not out on 30. Madziva, Chatara and Jarvis shared 2 wickets each for Zimbabwe.

Earlier Shakib Al Hasan opted to bowl first after winning the toss. Match was reduced to 18 overs due to delayed start for wet outfield. Taijul Islam marked his T20I debut in style by picking up wicket in his very first delivery to dismiss Brendon Taylor on 6.

Other bowlers also kept taking wickets on the other end as Zimbabwe lost their 5th wicket for 63. But then a unbeaten 81-run stand between Burl and Motumbodzi helped them posting a total of 144 for 5. Burl played an quick-fire knock of 57. Mosaddek, Saifuddin, Taijul and Mustafizur claimed one wicket each.

For his brilliant knock, Afif Hossain was named the player of the match.