Mushfiqur excellence helps Bangladesh to emphatic win in first T20I


Bangladesh vs India

First T20I

Arun Jaitley Stadium, Delhi

India : 148/6 in 20 overs (Dhawan 41, Pant 27, Iyer 22; Biplob 2/22, Shafiul 2/36, Afif 1/11)

Bangladesh : 154/3 in 19.3 overs (Mushfiqur 60*, Soumya 39, Naim Sheikh 26; Chahal 1/24, Chahar 1/24, Khaleel 1/37)

Result : Bangladesh won by 7 wickets.

Player of the Match : Mushfiqur Rahim.

Tigers have kicked off the India tour on a winning note as Mahmudullah’s team defeated the hosts in the first T20I in Delhi to take a 1-0 lead in the series. Bangladesh won the match by 7 wickets thanks to Mushfiqur Rahim’s unbeaten fifty.

New T20 captain Mahmudullah decided to bowl first after winning the toss. Shafiul gave the perfect start with the first over breakthrough of Rohit Sharma on 9. Then Aminul Biplob added more pressure by removing both KL Rahul and Shreyas Iyer. Shikhar Dhawan and Rishabh Pant then scored 41 and 27 respectively before tail-endears added quickfire 22 runs in the last two overs and eventually posted 148 for 6. Biplob and Shafiul shared two wickets each.

Bangladesh too lost wicket in the first over as Liton Das got out on 7 by Deepak Chahar. Debutant Naim Sheikh joined Soumya Sarkar and made an 46-run stand which provided a good start in the power play. Naim was dismissed after scoring 26 while Soumya gone for a well-made 39.

Run-rates were increasing but Mushfiqur remained calm and played an unbeaten knock of 60 runs to help Bangladesh seal the win with 3 ball remaining. He got a good company on Mahmudullah who was not out on 15 off 7 balls. Chahal, Chahar and Khaleel claimed one wicket each for India.

Mushfiqur Rahim was named the player of the match for his match-inning knock.

Second match of the series will be held on November 7 in Rajkot.