Tamim, Mahedi Hasan star as Dhaka make easy win out of Sylhet


Bangabandhu BPL T20 2019

Match 19

Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium

Dhaka Platoon vs Sylhet Thunder

Sylhet Thunder : 174/4 in 20 overs (Charles 73, Mithun 49*, Rutherford 38*; Afridi 2/26, Shadab 1/23, Mahedi 1/33)

Dhaka Platoon : 175/2 in 18.3 overs (Tamim 60*, Mahedi 56, Anamul 32, Jaker Ali 22*; Ebadat 1/24, Mosaddek 1/30)

Result : Dhaka Platoon won by 8 wickets.

Player of the Match : Mahedi Hasan.

All-rounder Mahedi Hasan shine once again for Dhaka Platoon as they clinched back-to-back win with an easy win against Sylhet Thunder. With the win, Dhaka moved up to the second spot on the points table with 8 points.

Thunder skipper Mosaddek Hossain opted to bat first after winning the toss. But it was the Platoon’s who had the perfect start as Mahedi Hasan removed previous match’s centurion Andre Fletcher for a golden duck. Abdul Majud too then gone early after scoring 8. It was Johnson Charles who hold the Thunder innings with his second fifty in a row. He was dismissed on 73 off 45 balls by Shadab Khan.

Then the two unbeaten batsmen Mohammad Mithun and Sherfane Rutherford gave the Thunder the finishing touch after Mosaddek’s departure. They added 65 runs in the 5th wicket to power the Thunder posting 174 for 4. Mithun missed his well deserved fifty as he was remained unbeaten on 49 off 31 balls while his partner Rutherford was on 38. Shahid Afridi picked up 2 wickets for 26.

Dhaka were off to a solid start thanks to their opening pair of Anamul Haque and Tamim who added 58 runs before Anamul was gone for 32. Then it was the repeat show of last match as Mahedi Hasan joined Tamim and scored another quickfire fifty. He made an match-winning 87 runs stand with Tamim and scored 56 off just 28 balls. Tamim on the other end played the anchoring role and remained unbeaten on 60 to ensure Dhaka’s easy win.

Jaker Ali gave the finishing touch with unbeaten 11-ball 22-run knock as they chased down the target with 8 wickets and 9 balls remaining. Ebadat Hossain and Mosaddek Hossain shared one wicket each for the Thunder.

Mahedi Hasan named as the player of the match for his all-round show.