Chattogram confirm playoffs


Bangabandhu BPL T20 2019

Match 36

Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium

Rajshahi Royals vs Chattogram Challengers 

Rajshahi Royals 166/6 in 20 overs (Liton 56, Malik 28, Farhad Reza 21; Ziaur 3/18, Rubel 3/20)

Chattogram Challengers 170/3 in 18.3 overs (Imrul 67*, Simmons 51, Gayle 23; Farhad Reza 1/17, Rabbi 1/20)

Result : Chattogram Challengers won by 7 wickets.

Player of the Match : Imrul Kayes.

Chattogram Challengers became the first team to confirm their place in the playoffs of Bangabandhu BPL T20 2019 with a 7-wicket win over Rajshahi Royals. Chasing 167, Imrul Kayes’s unbeaten fifty guided the Challengers to the victory with 9 balls remaining. Despite the defeat, Royals remained at the second spot on the points table with 14 points.

Both side got their regular captain back in the playing eleven for the match as Mahmudullah opted to bowl first after winning the toss. Liton Kumar Das maintained his good run with the bat by scoring 56 of 45 balls and provided a good start.

Later it was two cameo knocks of Farhad Reza and Andre Russell who scored 21 off 8 and 20 off 10 balls respectively to help them reaching the total of 166 for 6. Ziaur Rahman and Rubel Hossain shared 3 wickets each.

New opening pair Chris Gayle and Lendl Simmons started aggressively in the chase. Gayle marked his name on is first match in the tournament with his 10-ball 26-run knock. His partner Simmons on the other end picked up fifty before got run out.

Imrul Kayes then took the responsibility and ensure easy win by scoring unbeaten 67 off just 41 balls. His partner Chadwick Walton was not out on 14 when Challengers reached the target with 7 wickets in hand. Farhad Reza and Kamrul Islam bagged 1 wicket each.