Mushfiqur-Miraz heroics outshine Cumilla


Bangabandhu BPL T20 2019

Match 40

Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium

Khulna Tigers vs Cumilla Warriors

Khulna Tigers : 218/2 in 20 overs (Mushfiqur 98*, Miraz 74, Zadran 7*; Mujeeb 1/18, Ifran 1/38)

Cumilla Wriors : 126/9 in 20 overs (Tharanga 32, Fardeen 22, Yasir Ali 20; Shahidul 3/27, Biplob 2/19, Amir 2/24)

Result : Khulna Tigers won by 92 runs.

Player of the Match : Mushfiqur Rahim.

Mushfiqur Rahim missed out another century in the current Bangabandhu BPL T20 2019, but his heroic knock along with Mehidy Hasan inspired Khulna Tigers to beat Cumilla Warriors in back to back clash. After posting a mammoth total of 218, Khulna won the match by 92 runs thanks to their all-round bowling effort.

Chasing a bit target of 219, Cumilla never looked comfortable as no batsmen were able to score a big knock to provide any sort of fightback. Upul Tharanga was the highest scorer with 32 while other two major contribution came from Fardeen Hasan’s 22 and Yasir Ali’s 20. Cumilla finally managed to post 126 for 9 in 20 overs. Shahidul Islam bagged 3 wickets for 27.

Earlier Khulna lost their first 2 wickets for 33 in 3.2 overs. Then it was all about Mehidy and Mushfiqur show at the Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium as both charged down the Cumilla bowlers. The partnership between them was 168 when Mehidy was forced to retired hurt after scoring 74 off 45 balls.

Mushfiqur continued the slog till the last over as he powered Khulna to 200-plus total. Mushfiqur remained not out on 98 off just 57 balls including 12 fours and 3 sixes. Mujeeb Ur Rahman and debutant Ifran Hossain shared 1 wicket each for Cumilla.