Shanto fireworks stun Dhaka


Bangabandhu BPL T20 2019

Match 42

Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium

Dhaka Platoon vs Khulna Tigers

Dhaka Platoon 205/4 in 20 overs (Mominul 91, Mahedi 68*, Jaker Ali 14; Frylinck 2/35, Amir 1/35, Shafiul 1/50)

Khulna Tigers : 207/2 in 18.1 overs (Shanto 115*, Miraz 45, Russouw 23; Shadab 1/32, Mahedi 1/39)

Result : Khulna Tigers won by 8 wickets.

Player of the Match : Najmul Hossain Shanto.

Khulna Tigers recorded the highest successful chase in the Bangabandhu BPL T20 2019 against Dhaka Platoon thanks to Najmul Hossain Shanto’s blistering century. This win helped Khulna to end the group stage from te top of the points table with 16 points from 12 matches. Dhaka ended from the fourth spot with 14 points.

Khulna started their chase brilliantly as Shanto and Mehidy Hasan Miraz made 70 runs before Miraz was bowled out on 45 by Mahedi Hasan. But unstoppable Shanto outplayed the Dhaka bowlers with his maiden T20 century and led Khulna for a emphatic victory.

Shanto was remained not out on 115 off just 57 balls including 8 fours and 7 sixes when Khulna chased down the target with 8 wickets and 11 balls in hand. Shadab Khan and Mahedi shared 1 wicket each for Dhaka.

Earlier, Khulna skipper Mushfiqur Rahim decided to bowl after winning toss. His bowlers responded well by picking up 3 early wickets for 35 in the powerplay. Pressure was on the Dhaka side on that stage and then it was the 153-run stand between Mominul Haque and Mahedi Hasan made the difference.

Mominul was dismissed after scoring his T20 knock of 91 off 59 balls while Mahedi was remained unbeaten till the end on 68 off 36 balls and powered Dhaka to the total of 205 for 4. Robbie Frylinck took 2 wickets for 35.

Khulna Tigers will now face Rajshahi Royals in the first Qualifier 1 on January 13 at 6:30 pm while Dhaka Platoon will take on Chattogram Challengers in the Eliminator in the first match of the same day at 1:30 pm.