Chattogram keep winning streak


Bangabandhu T20 Cup 2020

Match 7

Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium

Gazi Group Chattogram vs Fortune Barishal

Toss : Fortune Barishal won the toss and opted to field first.

Gazi Group Chattogram : 151/7 in 20 overs (Liton 35, Mosaddek 28, Shykat 27; Abu Jayed 2/42, Rabbi 1/23, Mehidy 1/25)

Fortune Barishal : 141/9 in 20 overs (Tamim 32, Afif 24, Sumon 15; Mustafizur 3/23, Shoriful 3/27, Mosaddek 1/17)

Result : Gazi Group Chattogram won the match by 10 runs.

Player of the Match : Shoriful Islam.

Gazi Group Chattogram keep on winning as Mohammad Mithun-led side picked up their third win in a row. They defeated Fortune Barishal by 10 runs in the seventh match of Bangabandhu T20 Cup 2020.

Barishal had a good start in the chase as skipper Tamim Iqbal made 32 runs before Mosaddek Hossain got his wicket. On the other end no batsmen were able to score big apart from Afif Hossain who looked good during his stay at the crease. But player of the match Shoriful Islam bowled him on 24 to end Barishal’s hope to win the the match. Eventually they ended on 141 for 9 in 20 overs. Shoriful and Mustafizur both claimed 3 wickets each.

Batting first, Chattogram lost the wicket of Soumya Sarkar early on 5. His partner Liton Kumar carried the last match form with quickfire 35. Then Barishal bowlers slowed down the Chattogram innings by picking up couple of wickets in the middle overs. But Shykat Ali completly changed the match at the end with his cameo knock of 27 off just 11 balls. Nahidul Islam also chipped in with unbeaten 8 as Chattogram posted 151 for 7. Abu Jayed grabbed 2 wickets for 42.

Barishal will take on Beximco Dhaka on November 28 in their next match while Chattogram will face Minister Group Rajshahi at the same day.