Zakir, bowlers give Khulna a easy win against Barishal


Bangabandhu T20 Cup 2020

Match 11

Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium

Fortune Barishal vs Gemcon Khulna

Toss : Fortune Barishal won the toss and elected to field first.

Gemcon Khulna : 173/6 in 20 overs (Zakir 63, Imrul 37, Mamudullah 24; Rabbi 3/33, Taskin 2/43, Tanvir 1/16)

Fortune Barishal : 125/10 in 19.5 overs (Towhid 33, Tamim 32, Emon 19; Shahidul 2/17, Hasan 2/18, Shuvagata 2/18)

Result : Gemcon Khulna won by 48 runs.

Player of the Match : Zakir Hasan.

Gemcon Khulna sealed their third win in Bangabandhu T20 Cup 2020 with a comfirtable 48-run win over Fortune Barishal in a one-sided encounter at Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium. It was Khulna’s 3rd win in 5 matches while Barishal suffered their 4th defeat in 5 matches.

Khulna had a decent start after putting into bat first by Barishal. Zakir Hasan who played his first in this match played an match-winning knock of 63 off just 42 balls. Zakir made 90 runs partnership with Imrul Kayes in the second wicket and made way for a big score for Khulna. Skipper Mahmudullah chipped in with unbeaten 24 to help Khulna posting 173 for 6 after 20 overs. Kamrul Islam Rabbi bagged 3 wicket for 33.

Tamim Iqbal gave his side a solid start in the chase with his 21-ball 32-run knock but Khulna came back strongly to the match after his departure. Apart from Towhid Hridoy’s 33, no other batsmen stood out as Barishal kept losing wickets in regular intervals. They were all out for 125 in 19.5 overs. Shahidul, Hasan and Shuvagata shared 2 wickets each for Khulna.

Khulna will play against Minister Group Rajshahi in their next match on December 6.