Bangladesh Clean Sweep West Indies 3-0 in ODI Series


Bangabandhu ODI Series 2021

Third ODI

Venue : Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium

Toss : West Indies won the toss and decided to bat first.

Bangladesh : 297/6 in 50 overs (Mahmudullah 64*, Mushfiqur 64, Tamim 64; Josesph 2/48, Reifer 2/61, Mayers 1/34)

West Indies : 177/10 in 44.2 overs (Powell 47, Bonner 31, Reifer 27; Saifuddin 3/51, Miraz 2/18, Mustafizur 2/24)

Result : Bangladesh won by 120 runs.

Player of the Match : Mushfiqur Rahim.

Player of the Series : Shakib Al Hasan.

Tigers clinched another comprehensive victory as they defeated West Indies by 120 runs in the third and final match of the series in Chattogram. Following the series win, Bangladesh are now jump into second spot on the points table of ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Super League.

Earlier, West Indies won the toss but this time the put Bangladesh to bat first. Liton Kumar and Najmul Hossain both were again disappointing as they gone for 0 and 20 respectively. Skipper Tamim Iqbal then made 93-run stand with Shakib Al Hasan and set the stage ready for a big total. Tamim and Shakib both dismissed after scoring fifty.

Just when for the first time in the series the visitors will have a chance Mushfiqur Rahum along with Mahmudullah completely ruled them out of the match with their 72 runs partneship. Both scored fifties but it was Mahnudullah who was destroying the West Indies bowlers as he reamiend unbeaten on 64 off just 43 balls to help the Tigers posting 297 for 6.

Then with the ball Mustafizur Rahman gave the perfect start by removing both opener for 30. Other bowlers also joined the party as they kept on taking wickets in regular intervals. Rovman Powell showed some fightback during his 47-run knock but it was not enough for his side to avoid a big defeat. West Indies were all out for 177 in 44.2 overs. Saifuddin grabbed 3 wickets for 51 in his comeback match.

Mushfiqur Rahim named the player of the match while Shakib Al Hasan named the Player of the Series.

The 2-match Test series between the two sides will start from February 3 at the same venue.