Bangladesh suffer defeat in second ODI


Bangladesh Tour of New Zealand 2021

Second ODI

Venue : Hagley Oval, Christchurch

Toss : New Zealand won the toss and decided to field first.

Bangladesh : 271/6 in 50 overs (Tamim 78, Mithun 73*, Mushfiqur 34; Santner 2/51, Jamieson 1/36, Henry 1/48)

New Zealand : 275/5 in 48.2 overs (Latham 110*, Conway 72, Neesham 30; Mahedi 2/42, Mustafizur 2/62)

Result : New Zealand won by 5 wickets.

Man of the Match : Tom Latham.

Tigers lost the ODI series against New Zealand despite showing glimpse of fightback in the second match of the series in Christchurch. The hosts lead the series 2-0. Third and final match of the series will be held on March 26.

Just like the first match, Tom Latham invited Bangladesh to first after winning the toss. All-rounder Mohammad Saifuddin came in the playing XI in place of injured seamer Hasan Mahmud.

Liton Kumar gone early in the second over for a duck. Skipper Tamim Iqbal then added 81 runs with Soumya Sarkar. Soumya looked solid before getting out on 32. Tamim picked up his 50th ODI fifty and was on his way to the century. But his innings cut short by Neesham who run out Tamim for 78 with some brilliant piece of fielding.

From there it was Mohammad Mithun who took the charge and remained unbeaten till the end to help Bangladesh posting a fighting total. Mushfiqur Rahum and Mahmudullah supported him on the other end. Mithun 57-ball 73-run kncok powers Bangladesh to 271 for 6 after 50 overs. Santner took 2 wickets for 51.

Defending the total Bangladesh bowlers had the perfect start as they removed the first 3 wickets for just 53 runs. At that point the hosts were under pressure. Since then, New Zealand skipper Latham started the fightback for his side with Conway. They made 113 runs in the fourth wicket before Conway got run out on 72.

All of a sudden Tigers were pumped up and created couple of chances. But they failed to use it better as Latham slowly taken the match away with a match-winning unbeaten knock of 110. New Zealand won the match by 5 wickets and 9 balls remaining. Mahedi Hasan and Mustafizur Rahman shared 2 wickets each.