New Zealand win first T20I as Bangladesh fall short in mammoth run chase


Bangladesh Tour of New Zealand 2021

First T20I

Venue : Seddon Park, Hamilton

Toss : New Zealand won the toss and decided to bat first.

New Zealand : 210/3 in 20 overs (Conway 92*, Daryl 100*, Young 53, Guptill 35; Nasum 2/30, Mahedi 1/37)

Bangladesh : 144/8 in 20 overs (Afif 45, Saifuddin 34*, Naim Sheikh 27; Sodhi 4/28, Ferguson 2/25, Benett 1/20)

Result : New Zealand won by 66 runs.

Player of the Match : David Conway.

Mahmudullah’s team started the T20I series with disappointment as the hosts put on a clinical display to take 1-0 lead in the series. New Zealand won the match by 66 runs as Sodhi stars with the ball. Second match of the series will be held on March 30 in Napier.

Bangladesh had a setback before start of the match as Mushfiqur Rahim ruled out with a injury. Nasum Ahmed and Shoriful made their international debut for Bangladesh. Winning the toss, New Zealand opted to bat first.

Debutant Nasum removed both Kiwi openers for 53. But it was Conway again who smashed hundred in the last ODI and carried the form today with his unbeaten 52-ball 92-run knock. Conway’s 105 runs partnership with Young set the platform ready for a big total. Young was dismissed after scoring 53 but Phillips chipped in with quickfire 24 to power New Zealand a massive total of 210 for 3.

Tigers needed a solid start in the big chase but lost Liton Kumar early for 4. Naim Sheikh looked good during his stay but it was cut short by Ferguson on 27. Then Bangladesh suffered a batting collapse and reduced to 59 for 6. Afif Hossain and Mohammad Saifuddin added 63 runs in the 7th wicket but their partnership only reduced the defeat margin.

Afif scored the highest 45 while Saifuddin remained unbeaten on 34 as Bangladesh managed to post 144 for 8. Sodhi claimed 4 wickets for 28 for New Zealand.