Media Release : Bangladesh Preliminary Squad for Tour of Sri Lanka 2021 announced


The Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) has announced the preliminary squad for the Tour of Sri Lanka 2021. The Bangladesh Team will leave Dhaka on 12 April for a two-Test series. All 21 members of the preliminary side will travel to Sri Lanka:


Mominul Haque, Litton Kumer Das, Md Mithun, Mushfiqur Rahim, Tamim Iqbal Khan, Shadman Islam, Abu Jayed Chowdhury Rahi, Taijul Islam, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Mehidy Hassan Miraz, Nayeem Hasan, Taskin Ahmed, Ebadot Hossain Chowdhury, Mohammed Saif Hassan, Yasir Ali Chowdhury, Shoriful Islam, Syed Khaled Ahmed, Mukidul Islam Mugdho, Shuvagata Hom Chowdhury, Shohidul Islam, Quazi Nurul Hasan Sohan.


On announcing the preliminary squad :”We have decided to take the preliminary squad to Sri Lanka as it would help our preparation and also give exposure to a number of players who are in our thinking for the longer version going forward.”

The squad for the Test series will be announced after our inter-squad warm up game.

Inclusion of uncapped pace trio Shoriful Islam, Mukidul Islam Mugdho and Shohidul Islam and the return of Shuvagata Hom Chowdhury.

“They (Shoriful, Mukidul and Shohidul)  have been in our HP set up and have impressed in whichever version they have played in. Mukidul and Shohidul in particular, have caught the eye in domestic first class this season and are future Test prospects. They all have age on their side and are talented.”

“Shuvagata is coming back after a while but he has been a consistent performer in first class cricket. We have considered him as a batting all-rounder but his off break is pretty handy also and gives us an option in the spin department.”





12 April 21

Bangladesh Team arrive in Colombo and transferred to Negombo for mandatory room quarantine (12-14 April)

15 -16 April 21

Quarantine Training

17 – 18 April 21

Inter-Squad Warm-Up

CMCG – Katunayake

19 -20 April 21


Pallekele International Cricket Stadium, Kandy

21 – 25 April 21

1st Test

Pallekele International Cricket Stadium, Kandy

26 – 28 April 21


Pallekele International Cricket Stadium, Kandy

29 April – 03 May

2nd Test

Pallekele International Cricket Stadium, Kandy

04 May 21

Bangladesh Team departs