Bangladesh lost 5th T20I despite Afif heroics


New Zealand Tour of Bangladesh 2021

Fifth T20I

Venue : Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium.

Toss : New Zealand won the toss and decided to bat first.

New Zealand : 161/5 in 20 overs (Latham 50*, Allen 41, Nicholls 20; Shoriful 2/48, Afif 1/18, Nasum 1/25)

Bangladesh : 134/8 in 20 overs (Afif 49*, Naim Sheikh 23, Mahmudullah 23; Ajaz 2/21, Kuggeleijn 2/23, Rachin 1/19)

Result : New Zealand won by 27 runs.

Player of the Match : Tom Latham.

Player of the Series : Nasum Ahmed and Tom Latham.

Bangladesh ended the T20I series with defeat New Zealand won the fifth match of the series by 27 runs. Despite losing the match, Mahmudullah’s side won the series 3-2.

Earlier of the evening, Tom Latham again won the toss and put Bangladesh into bowl first. Tigers made couple of changes as Soumya Sarkar, Shamim Hossain, Taskin Ahmed and Shoriful Islam came in the side replacing Shakib Al Hasan, Mahedi Hasan, Mohammad Saifuddin and Mustafizur Rahman.

The visitors were off to a flyer thanks to a quickfire 24-ball 41 runs knock. Then bowlers brought back Bangladesh in the game by picking up some wickets and reduced New Zealand for 83 for 4. But Latham stood out in the occasion and played an counter attacking knock to help his side posting a fighting total.

New Zealand ended their innings on 161 for 5 as Latham remained not out on 50 and Cole chipped in with unbeaten 17 off 10. Shoriful grabbed 2 wickets in expense of 48 runs.

In reply, Liton Kumar Das looked again dismissed early on 10. After his departure, Bangladesh lost 3 wickets for just 20 runs and were in big trouble at 46 for 4. Then came the 63-run stand between Afif Hossain and Mahmudullah which gave some hope in the chase.

Kuggeleijn broke the partnership by removing Mahmudullah 23 and this wicket completely changed the match for his side. Afif fought alone at the other end but it was not enough as Bangladesh managed to post 134 for 8 in 20 overs. Afif was not out on 49 off 33 balls including 2 fours and 3 sixes. Ajaz and Kuggeleijn shared 2 wickets each for the Blackcaps.