Bangladesh lose against West Indies in a thriller


ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021

Bangladesh vs West Indies

Group 1

Venue : Sharjah Cricket Stadium

Toss : Bangladesh won the toss and decided to bowl first.

West Indies : 142/7 in 20 overs (Pooran 40, Chase 39, Holder 15*; Shoriful 2/20, Mahedi 2/27, Mustafizur 2/43)

Bangladesh : 139/5 in 20 overs (Liton 44, Mahmudullah 31*, Soumya 17; Holder 1/22, Akeal 1/24, Rampaul 1/25)

Result : West Indies won by 3 runs.

Player of the Match : Nicholas Pooran.

Bangladesh were so close to earn their first win in Super 12 but West Indies won the nail-biting encounter by 3 runs in Sharjah. Tigers lost their their first two matches against Sri Lanka and England. Mahmudullah’s side will play their next match against South Africa on November 2.

Chasing 145, Bangladesh started with a new opening pair of Shakib Al Hasan and Naim Sheikh. Shakib, who played first time a opener in international cricket; got out after scoring 9. Naim and Soumya Sarkar both got the start but failed to convert their respective knocks of 17 each to big ones. Next batsmen Mushfiqur Rahim was bowled by Rampaul on 8.

It was Liton Kumar Das who kept the Tigers in the match with a vital 40-runs partnership with skipper Mahmudullah. Liton’s 44-run came to an end when Bravo got rid of him in the last ball of 19th over. 13 needed in the final over but Mahmudullah and Afif Hossain only managed to score 9 runs as Bangladesh ended with 139 for 5. Holder, Akeal, Rampaul, Russell and Barvo shared 1 wicket each.

Earlier of the evening, Mahmudullah won the toss and opted to bowl first, Two changes were made as Soumya Sarkar and Taskin Ahmed came in the playing eleven for Nurul Hasan and Nasum Ahmed.

Bangladesh bowlers kept the big hitters of West Indies well in check till the 14 overs with a total of 70 for 4. From there Pooran took his side to fighting total with a blistering knock of 40 off just 22 balls. Holder and Pollard struck three sixes in the 20th over by Mustafizur Rahman as Caribbean’s nanaged to post 142 for 7. Shoriful Islam, Mahedi Hasan and Mustafizur shared 2 wickets each for the Tigers.