Monday , January 26 2015
Sri Lanka winning streak continues| Bangladesh vs Sri Lanka Asia Cup 2014

Sri Lanka winning streak continues| Bangladesh vs Sri Lanka Asia Cup 2014

Dominant bowling from Lankan bowlers restricted Bangladesh to just 204 losing 9 wickets, their lowest total in this tournament. Lack of good partnerships proved to be the main culprit in their innings. Controlled and tight bowling ensured that the hosts would not be able to swing their bat like they did against Pakistan.

Anamaul haque and Shamsur Rahman started the innings in a slow stride, put 74 runs in 18 overs and all of a sudden, the lineup collapsed when things were looking bright for Bangladesh. It all started in the 19th over with a tossed up delivery from Mendis which hit Shamsur’s(39) pad on its way towards the leg stump. A half-hearted effort from Mominul(1) saw his offstump uprooted in that same over and left the hosts at 76 for 2.

Mushfiqur Rahim was the next one to follow. The skipper tried to scoop one from de Silva and eventually got caught in his pad after scoring 4 and Bangladesh lost their third wicket within just 13 runs.

Unfortunate Anamul could not carry on for long after that and fell short of just 1 run from his third fifty in this Asia Cup. He flicked a delivery from Priyanjan trying to find a single but Thirimanne pulled off a cracker at short mid-wicket to put an end to his labored stay.

Shakib was caught just moments later and Bangladesh suddenly became 119 for 5. Nasir and Mahmudullah tried to repair the damage as the pair added 55 runs in the sixth wicket stand but it eventually slowed their run rate by much which erased any hope of scoring 250 plus.

Lankan pacers did the rest of the damage in the slog overs, bowling Mahmudullah, Zia and Rubel while Nasir was caught at long on.

Lakmal, Perera, Mendis and Priyanjan got two wickets each and de Silva took the rest one.

Winning the toss, tiger captain Mushfiqur Rahim decided to bat first at Mirpur against Sri Lanka. They have brought three changes in the squad from the one played against Pakistan. Imrul Kayes is out with a groin injury, Shamsur Rahman is back to replace him. Shafiul Islam and Abdur Razzak made way for Rubel Hossain and Arafat Sunny.

Sri Lanka dropped Chandimal due to his poor form and Priyanjan took his place in the squad. Malinga has been rested while Senanayeke is back in the team.

Bangladesh team:
Shamsur Rahman, Anamul Haque†, Mominul Haque, Mushfiqur Rahim*, Shakib Al Hasan, Nasir Hossain, Mahmudullah, Ziaur Rahman, Arafat Sunny, Rubel Hossain, Al-Amin Hossain

Sri Lanka team:
MDKJ Perera, HDRL Thirimanne, KC Sangakkara†, DPMD Jayawardene, SMA Priyanjan, AD Mathews*, PC de Silva, NLTC Perera, SMSM Senanayake, BAW Mendis, RAS Lakmal

Sunviraj Rifat
tigercricket correspondent