Saturday , January 31 2015
Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium

Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium


The stadium, named after AK Fazlul Haque – the country’s renowned leader, was established in 2006. It hosted the opening match of the ICC Cricket World Cup 2011 and also two quarter-final matches in tournament.

The first official match played here was the ODI between Bangladesh and Zimbabwe in December 2008 and the ground was granted Test venue status in 2007.

The stadium, which has a seating capacity of 25,000, originally started off as a football venue in the late 1980s. Then known as National Stadium 2, the ground held its first competitive fixture in 1987 when popular Dhaka club Mohammedan Sporting took on Sri Lanka’s Sanders in an Asian Club Championship fixture. The venue held top level football competitions until 2004-2005 before it was formally taken over by the Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB).

Capacity of Sher E Bangla Cricket Stadium


General Stands: 14,168
VIP Stands: 2,788
International Stands: 1,356
Club House Stand: 6,344
Pavilion Hospitality Box: 242
Southern Corporate Box: 268
Southern Hospitality: 250


  • Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium
  • >>Section 2
  • >>Mirpur
  • >>Dhaka-1216
  • >>Bangladesh