A compressive win for Bangladesh in first T20I

New Zealand Tour of Bangladesh 2021

First T20I

Venue : Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium.

Toss : New Zealand won the toss and decided to bat first.

New Zealand : 60/10 in 16.5 overs (Nicholls 18, Latham 18, Bracewell 5; Mustafizur 3/13, Nasum 2/5, Safiuddin 2/7)

Bangladesh : 62/3 in 15 overs (Shakib 25, Mushfiqur 16*, Mahmudullah 14*; Ajaz 1/7, Cole 1/19, Ravindra 1/21)

Result : Bangladesh won by 7 wickets.

Player of the Match : Shakib Al Hasan.

Tigers started the series against New Zealand with a thumping victory. Chasing 61, Mahmudullah’s side seal the match with 7 wickets and 30 balls in hand. Bangladesh lead the 5-match series 1-0. Second match of the series will be held on September 3.

Earlier of the evening, the visitors won the toss and opted to bat first. Mushfiqur Rahim and Liton Kumar Das came back to the side after missed out on the last two T20I series against Zimbabwe and Australia.

New Zealand had a nightmare start as they reduced to 9 for 4. Two experienced batsmen Latham and Nicholls then put some fightback. But Mohammad Saifuddin cut short their partnership and removed both for 18 respectively. No other batsmen were able to touch the double digits as Kiwis were all out for their lowest T20I score of 60. Mustafizur Rahman grabbed 3 wickets for 13. Nasum, Saifuddin and Shakib shared 2 wickets each.

Chasing a small target, Bangladesh lost Naim Sheikh and Liton for 7. But number one T20 all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan stood out and played a 25 runs knock which all but ensured a easy win. Mushfiqur Rahim and Mahmudullah finished off the match with an unbeaten 25-run stand in 4th wicket. Mushfiqur was on 15 while Mahmudullah was on 14.