Abahani clinch title in DPDCL 2017-18

Abahani Limited regained the title of Walton Dhaka Premier Division Cricket League 2017-18 with a 94-run victory over Legends of Rupganj in the final round of Super League. Abahani become the champion with 24 points from 16 matches. Runner-up Legends of Rupganj grabbed 20 points from 16 matches. Prime Doleshwar Sporting Club also claimed 20 points but Rupganj had the better run-rate.

Batting first Abahani Limited posted a mammoth total of 374 for 6 in 50 overs. Nazmul Hossain Shanto (107) and Nasir Hossain (129) scored the two highest knocks for Abahani. Parvez Rasool bagged 3 wickets for 42. Chasing 375, Legends of Rupganj started well. But the efforts from skipper Nayeem Islam, Mohammed Naim and Mushfiqur Rahim’s were gone in vain as Abahani took wickets in regular interval. Rupgonj were eventually bowled out for 280 in 42.4 overs. Nayeem Islam played the highest knock of 76. Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Sandip Roy, Sunzamul Islam and Nasir Hossain shared 2 wickets each. Nasir was named man of the match for his all-round heroics.

Khelaghar Samaj Kallyan Samity beat Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club Ltd by 4 wickets in a low-scoring encounter at Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium. Prime Doleshwar Sporting Club clinched a 5-wicket win against Gazi Group Cricketers on the other match of the day at Khan Shaheb Osman Ali Stadium, Fatullah.


Abahani Limited vs Legends of Rupgonj

Venue : Bangladesh Krira Shikha Protisthan Ground-3, Savar.

Abahani : 374/6 in 50 overs (Nasir 129, Shanto 107, Anamul 58, Mashrafe 28*; Rasool 3/42)

Rupganj : 280/10 in 42.4 overs (Naeem Islam 76, Naim 70, Mushfiqur 67; Miraz 2/29, Sandip 2/53, Sunzamul 2/63, Nasir 2/67)

Result : Abahani Limited won by 94 runs.

Player of the Match : Nasir Hossain.


Khelaghar Samaj Kallyan Samity vs Lt. Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club Ltd

Venue : Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium.

Sk. Jamal : 160/10 in 49 overs (Nurul Hasan 47, Shohag Gazi 27, Al-Imran 25; Saddam 2/18, Robi 2/19, Maneria 2/38)

Khelaghar : 161/6 in 36.5 overs (Nazimuddin 61, Rafsan 46, Amit 14; Nazmul Islam 5/32)

Result : Khelaghar Samaj Kallyan Samity won by 4 wickets.

Player of the Match : Nazmul Hossain.


Gazi Group Cricketers vs Prime Doleshwar Sporting Club

Venue : Khan Shaheb Osman Ali Stadium, Fatullah.

Gazi Group  : 95/10 in 21.4 overs (Mehedi Hasan 39; Nasum 4/10, Arafat Sunny 3/26, Sakil 2/31)

Doleshwar : 99/5 in 24 overs (Sayeem 36, Fazle Mahmud 31, Sharifullah 22*; Abu Hider 3/27)

Result : Prime Doleshwar Sporting Club won by 5 wickets.

Player of the Match : Nasum Ahmed.