Afif, Kapali star as Royals thrash Thunder

Bangabandhu BPL T20 2019

Match 34

Sylhet International Cricket Stadium, Sylhet

Sylhet Thunder vs Rajshahi Royals

Sylhet Thunder : 143/6 in 20 overs (Mithun 47, Rutherford 25, Fletcher 25; Kapali 2/14, Irfan 1/18, Abu Jayed 1/24)

Rajshahi Royals : 145/4 in 15.1 overs (Afif 46, Liton 36, Malik 27; Delwar 2/11, Rutherford 1/31)

Result : Rajshahi Royals won by 6 wickets.

Player of the Match : Afif Hossain.

A clinical Rajshahi Royals outclassed the struggling Sylhet Thunder in the last match of Sylhet phase of Bangabandhu BPL T20 2019 with an emphatic 6-wicket win. After restricting the Thunder for 143, top order batsmen guided the Royals to a seal the match easily with 6 wickets in hand. This win helped the Royals to claim the joint top spot on the points table with 14 points along with Chattogram Challengers.

Stand-in captain Andre Fletcher decided to bat first after winning the toss. But he was not comfortable in the middle after losing Abdul Majid and Johnson Charles early. His struggling innings camet to an end when he got run out after scoring 25 off 33 balls.

Then it was Mohammad Mithun’s 47 and Sherfane Rutherford’s quickfire 25 helped the Thunder to post a fighting total of 143 for 6. Alok Kapali took 2 wickets for 14.

In-form opening pair Liton Kumar Das and Afif Hossain gave the Royals another fifty plus partnership with 59 to start their chase in a good note. They were dismissed for 36 and 46 respectively but the job was done as Shoiab Malik and Mohammad Nawaz made it a comprehensive win by reaching the target with 29 balls remaining. Nawaz was unbeaten on 17 while Malik was dismissed after scoring 27. Delwar Hossain picked up 2 wickets for 20.

Afif Hossain named the player of the match for his match-winning knock.