Afif knocks down the Warriors

Bangabandhu BPL T20 2019

Match 20

Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium

Rajshahi Royals vs Cumilla Warriors

Cumilla Warriors : 170/8 in 20 overs (Malan 100*, Soumya 22, Shanaka 11; Irfan 2/23, Abu Jayed 2/24, Russell 2/26)

Rajshahi Royals : 171/3 in 17.5 overs (Afif 76, Bopara 40*, Liton 27, Rusell 21*; Al-Amin 2/49, Mujeeb 1/17)

Result : Rajshahi Royals won by 7 wickets.

Player of the Match : Afif Hossain (Rajshahi Royals) & David Malan (Cumilla Warriors)

Rajshahi Royals just can’t stop chasing big targets! The Royals claimed another dominating victory with ease by chasing 170 to beat Cumilla Warriors in the last match of Chattogram phase of Bangabandhu BPL T20 2019. This win put the Royals to the second spot on the points table with 8 points from 5 matches.

Just like the last match of Rajshahi Royals, two opener Liton Kumar and Afif Hossain put on a show and smashed the Cumilla bowlers in the powerplay. Mujeeb Ur Rahman finally broke the partnership by dismissing Liton on 27. Next batsman Shoaib Malik then got out cheaply for 1.

On the other end Afif played an excellent knock by registering his first fifty in the tournament. He was well supported by Ravi Bopara made an vital 62-run stand with Afif which made things easy for the Royals for the chase.

Afif was finally dismissed by Al-Amin Hossain after scoring 76 off 53 balls including 8 fours and 2 sixes. Bopara was remained unbeaten on 40 as skipper Andre Russell chipped in with quickfire 8-ball 21-run knock to give his side victory with 7 wickets and 13 balls in hand. Al-Amin grabbed 2 wickets for 49.

Earlier Cumilla Warriors posted 170 for 8 in 20 overs which was a one-man show of David Malan. Malan was promoted to the opening for this match and he respond with a unbeaten century while his other partners struggled for runs. Royal skipper Russell used 9 bowlers to restrict the other Warriors batsmen and it worked for him. He scalped two wickets along with Abu Jayed and Ravi Bopara who also shared two wickets each.