Bangladesh and Sri Lanka share ODI Series

Sri Lanka : 280/9 in 50 overs (K. Mendis 54, Perera 52, Tharanga 35, Mashrafe 3/65, Mustafizur 2/55, Mehidy 1/49)

Bangladesh : 210/10 in 44.3 overs (Shakib 54, Mehidy 51, Soumya 38, Kulasekara 2/37, Prasanna 2/33, Lakmal 2/38, )

Result: Sri Lanka won by 70 runs

Bangladesh lost the 3rd and final ODI by 75 runs as Sri Lanka level the series 1-1. Second match was abandoned due to rain at the Rangiri Dambulla International Stadium.

Earlier Mashrafe Mortaza won the toss and elected to bowl first. Danushka Gunathilaka and Upul Tharanga added 76 runs in the opening stand. Mehidy Hasan broke the partnership by dismissing Gunathilaka on 34. Couple of overs later Taskin Ahmed picked up the wicket of Tharanga on 35.

Half-centurion Kusal Mendis was the first victim of Mustafizur Rahman on 54. Next two batsmen Dinesh Chandimal and Milinda Siriwardana were both run out, before scoring 21 and 12. Mashrafe came back to the attack and grabbed the wicket of Asela Gunaratne on 34.

Soon Mustafizur struck again and got rid of Seekkuge Prasanna on 1. Mashrafe picked up 2 wickets in the last over as Sri Lanka finished their innings on 280/9 after 50 overs.

In reply, Bangladesh lost the wickets of Tamim Iqbal, Sabbir Rahman and Mushfiqur Rahim between just 11 runs. Soumya Sarkar and Shakib Al Hasan added 77 runs in the 4th wicket which ended with the wicket of Soumya on 38.

Next batsmen Mosaddek Hossain was gone for 9. Soon Shakib also departed after picked up his 34th ODI fifty. Mashrafe Mortaza and Taskin Ahmed made some small partnerships with Mehidy Hasan, but it wasn’t enough. Mehidy got his maiden half-century and scored 51 from 71 balls. Bangladesh were bowled out for 210. Nuwan Kulasekara was the most successful bowler for Sri Lanka with 4 for 37.

2 match twenty-20 series between Sri Lanka and Bangladesh will start on 3rd April.