Bangladesh clinch record chase at Colombo

Sri Lanka : 214/6 in 20 overs (K Perera 74, K Mendis 56, Tharanga 32*, Mustafizur 3/48, Mahmudullah 2/15, Taskin 1/40)

Bangladesh : 215/5 in 19.4 overs (Mushtaqur 72*, Tamim 47, Liton 43; Pradeep 2/37)

Result : Bangladesh won by 5 wicket.

Player of the Match : Mushfiqur Rahim.

Bangladesh secured a thrilling 5-wicket victory against Sri Lanka in the third match of Nidahas Trophy 2018.

After winning the toss, Mahmudullah opted to bowl first at R. Premadasa Stadium, Colombo. From the start of the innings to end, Sri Lanka batsmen were all over the Bangladesh bowlers. At the end of 20 overs, Sri Lanka posted 214 for 6 thanks to fifties from Kusal Perera and Kusal Mendis. Mustafizur Rahman bagged 3 wickets for 48.

In reply Tamim Iqbal and Liton Kumar Das gave Bangladesh a blistering start with a partnership of 74 in just 5.5 overs. Liton was dismissed after scoring 43 off 19 balls. Couple of overs later Thisara Perera got rid of Tamim on 47. Nuwan Pradeep took the wicket of Soumya Sarkar on 24.

Then Mushfiqur Rahim and Mahmudullah added quick-fire 42 runs in the 4th wicket and kept the hope alive. Sri Lanka put the pressure back on Bangladesh by picking up two back-to-back wickets of Mahmudullah and Sabbir Rahman. But Mushfiqur stayed their until the last over to seal a thrilling 5-wicket victory with 2 balls in hand. Mushfiqur remained not out on 72 off just 35 balls. It was the first time Bangladesh scored past 200 runs in T20I. Overall it was the fourth highest chase in T20I history. Nuwan Pradeep picked up 2 wickets for 37.

Mushfiqur Rahim was named man of the match for his match-winning fifty.