Bangladesh clinch the T20 series against West Windies

West Indies vs Bangladesh, Third T20I, Lauderhill, Florida.

Bangladesh : 184/5 in 20 overs (Liton 61, Mahmudullah 32*, Shakib 24; Paul 2/26, C  Brathwaite 2/32, Kesrick 1/32)

West Indies : 135/7 in 17.1 overs (Russell 47, R Powell 23, Ramdin 21; Mustafizur 3/31, Soumya 1/18, Shakib 1/22)

Result : Bangladesh won by 19 runs (D/L method).

Player of the Match : Liton Kumar Das.

Player of the Series : Shakib Al Hasan.

Bangladesh have won the 3-match T20I series against West Indies after beating then by 19 runs (D/L method) in the third match of the series at Lauderhill, Florida, USA.

Skipper Shakib Al Hasan opted to bat first after winning the toss. Bangladesh played with the same eleven form the second match. Tamim Iqbal and Liton Kumar Das gave a start to with 61 runs stand in just 4.4 overs. Tamim was dismissed after scoring 21 but Liton kept hitting teh big shots as he played an blistering knock of 61 off just 32 balls. It was Liton’s maiden T20I fifty. Then some little contributiosn from Shakib, Ariful and a quick-fire unbeaten 32 from Mahmudullah helped Bangladesh to post 184 for 5 after 20 overs.

Defending 184, Bangladesh bolwers had a fantastic start as the restricted West Indies for 32 in the power-play and also picked up 3 wickets. R Powell and Ramdin looked dangerious before Mustafizur and Rubel dismissed them in quick-succession. But Andre Russell had other idea as he smashed 6 sixes during his knock of 47 off just 21 balls and kept the hope alive for the hosts. Finally Mustafizur got rid of him in the first ball of 17th over before the rain stopped the play. After a while, Bangladesh were declared as the winner by 19 runs per DL method.

Liton Kumar was named the player of the match and Shakib Al Hasan was named the player of the series for his all-round display throughout the series.

Photo : ICC