Australia beat Bangladesh to level series

Bangladesh (1st innings) : 305 in 113.2 overs (Mushfiqur 68, Sabbir 66, Nasir 45; Lyon 7/94, Agar 2/52)

Australia (1st innings) : 377 in 119.5 overs (Warner 123, Handscomb 82, Smith 58; Mustafizur 4/84, Mehidy 3/93, Taijul 1/78)

Bangladesh (2nd innings) : 157 in 71.2 overs (Mushfiqur 31, Mominul 29, Sabbir 24; Lyon 6/60, Cummins 2/27, O’Keefe 2/49)

Australia (2nd innings) : 87/3 in 15.3 overs (Maxwell 25*, Renshaw 22, Handscomb 16*; Mustafizur 1/16, Taijul 1/26, Shakib 1/35)

Result : Australia won by 7 wickets.


Bangladesh lost the second Rocket Test by 7 wickets against Australia at Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium, Chittagong. Bangladesh won the first Test at Dhaka. 2-match series is leveled at 1-1.

Australia started the third day on 377 for 9. Mustafizur struck in the very first over of the day to dismiss Nathan Lyon without scoring. Mustafizur grabbed 4 wickets for 84 runs.

Trailing by 72 runs, Bangladesh had a nightmare start. Pat Cummins gave the first breakthrough to Australia by dismissing opener Soumya Sarkar on 15. Tamim Iqbal was the first victim of Lyon on 12. Imrul Kayes looked solid but he was got out on 15. Lyon then got rid of next batsman Shakib Al Hasan on 2. Nasir Hossain who was promoted to the batting order was gone after scoring 5.

At 43 for 5, Bangladesh were in all sorts of trouble. But skipper Mushfiqur and Sabbir’s unbeaten 54 runs partnership in the sixth wicket rescued Bangladesh from the damage. Lyon struck after lunch to dismiss Sabbir on 24. Pat Cummins picked up the wicket of Mushfiqur on 31 in his return spell. Before tea, Tigers lost the wicket of Mominul Haque on 29.

Bangladesh lost their last 2 wickets in quick succession and were bowled out for 157 runs in their second innings with a lead of 85.

Mustafizur gave the first breakthrough to Bangladesh by dismissing David Warner on 8. Steve Smith was got dismissed by Taijul and departed for 16 . Shakib Al Hasan struck in the next over and put some pressure on Australia. Renshaw was got out on 22. But an unbeaten 39 runs partnership between Peter Handscomb and Glenn Maxwell sealed a comfortable 7 wicket victory for Australia.