Bangladesh complete clean sweep in ODI series


Bangladesh Tour of Zimbabwe 2021

Third ODI

Venue : Harare Sports Club, Harare

Toss : Bangladesh won the toss and decided to bowl first.

Zimbabwe : 298/10 in 49.3 overs (Chakabva 84, Burl 59, Sikandar 57; Mustafizur 3/57, Saifuddin 3/87, Mahmudullah 2/45)

Bangladesh : 302/5 in 48 overs (Tamim 112, Sohan 45*, Liton 32; Madhevere 2/45, Tiripano 2/61, Jongwe 1/44)

Result : Bangladesh won by 5 wickets.

Player of the Match : Tamim Iqbal.

Player of the Series : Shakib Al Hasan.

Skipper Tamim Iqbal led from the front to his side in the big chase as Bangladesh defeated Zimbabwe by 5 wickets in the third ODI. Tigers win the series 3-0. The 3-match T20I series will start from July 22 at the same venue.

Bangladesh made couple of changes in the playing eleven as Nurul Hasan Sohan and Mustafizur Rahman stepping into the side replacing Mehidy Hasan Miraz and Shoriful Islam.

Tamim invited Zimbabwe to bat first after winning the toss. Bowlers backed his decision as they kept the run rate in cheak and picked up two wickets inside 20 overs. Chakavba and Myers added 71 runs in the third wicket before Mahmudullah removed the later for 34. Bangladesh then fought back with two quick wickets to reduce the hosts for 172 for 5.

From there, Sikandar joined with Burl whp they tested the bowlers with some power hitting. The pair added 112 runs which helped them setting up a target of 299 for the Tigers. Mustafizur Rahman and Mohammad Saifuddin both shared 3 wickets each.

Tamim and Liton Kumar Das were off to a good start with a 88-run stand. Madhevere gave Zimbabwe breakthrough by dismissing Liton for 34. Second match hero Shakib Al Hasan looked good during his stay at the crease but this time his innings was cut short for 30 by Jongwe.

Tamim on the other end batted effortlessly and picked up his 14th ODI century. He departed after scoring 114. Mahmudullah gone for a duck and suddenly Bangladesh were at 204 for 4 in space of two balls.

Sohan who made his comeback in the match, was promoted to number six. He grabbed the opportunity with both hands. Despite losing Mohammad Mithun for 30, Bangladesh were never in doubt for a victory thanks to a unbeaten 34-run stand between Sohan and Afif Hossain. Sohan remained unbeaten on 45 while Afif was on 26. Madhevere and Tiripano bagged 2 wickets each for Zimbabwe.

Tamim named the player of the match and Shakib named the player of the series.

Photo : Zimbabwe