Bangladesh lost first T-20I by 20 runs

South Africa : 195/4 in 20 overs (de Kock 59, de Villiers 49, Behardien 36*; Mehidy 2/31, Shakib 1/28, Rubel 1/34)

Bangladesh : 175/9 in 20 overs (Soumya 47, Saifuddin 39*, Sabbir 19; Phehlukwayo 2/25, Hendricks 2/29, Frylinck 2/33)

Result : South Africa won by 20 runs.

Man of the Match : AB de Villiers.

Bangladesh started the T20I series with a 20 run defeat against South Africa at Manaoag Oval, Bloemfontein.

Earlier South Africa opted to bat first after winning the toss. Mehidy Hasan gave the early breakthrough to Bangladesh by dismissing Hashim Amla on 3. Mehidy struck again in his second spell and got rid of AB de Villiers on 49. Shakib Al Hasan picked up the wicket of JP Duminy on 13. Rubel Hossain trapped Quinton de Kock lbw on 59 but David Miller and Farhaan Behardien’s unbeaten 62 runs partnership in the fifth wicket helped South Africa to post 195 for 4 in 20 overs. Mehidy grabbed 2 wickets for 31.

Chasing 196, Soumya Sarkar and Imrul Kayes gave Bangladesh a flying start. Beuran Hendricks broke the partnership of 43 by dismissing Imrul Kayes. Skipper Shakib Al Hasan got the start but Frylinck got rid of him on 13. Soumya was gone after scoring 47 off 31 balls including 5 fours and 2 sixes.

South Africa put the pressure back on Bangladesh by picking up wickets in regular basis. Bangladesh lost three wickets from 92 to 101 runs. Despite Saifuddin’s late fightback, Tigers managed to score 175 for 9 in 20 overs. Saifuddin remained not out on 39 off 27 balls. Phehlukwayo, Hendricks and Frylinck shared 2 wickets each.

Second and final T20I of the series will be held at Senwes Park, Potchefstroom on October 29.

Photo : ICC