New Zealand players dominated in every department and consequently sealed the ODI series by 3-0. Bangladesh lost the last game of the series by 8 wickets.

Bangladesh, for the first time in this series, have come to bat first as Mashrafe has decided to do so after winning the toss. Two openers were ecstatic to back their skipper’s decision as they have played sensible cricket and put a century partnership. Kayes, however, lost his temper suddenly, came down the wicket to play a slog shot and got caught at the short third man region. After his departure, no Bangladeshi batsman was able to score a decent innings. Tamim also followed Kayes soon after by playing a slog shot. Shakib and Mosaddek tried a bit to build a partnership, but a great field work by Ronchi sent back Shakib to the pavilion.

Bangladesh literally toiled hard all through their innings after that opening partnership and found extremely difficult to score runs. New Zealand bowlers bowled fantastically maintaining tight line and length which cause the batsmen to mishit the balls and get out. Nurul Hasan and Mashrafe Mortaza have made an effective partnership in the lower order that helped Bangladesh innings to cross 200 mark. Nurul Hasan was confident all through his innings and his bravery eventually helped Bangladesh to reach a respectable total. He has scored 44 runs from just 39 balls. In their stipulated overs, Bangladesh have scored 236 runs losing 9 wickets despite the massive opening partnership of 102 runs.

Under the necessity of early wickets to stay alive in the match, Bangladeshi bowlers started quite well. Mustafiz got a very important breakthrough as he deceived Latham to secure his wicket. Bangladesh could manage another in the very next over of Mustafiz but Kayes dropped the catch of Broom at slip. It has cost Bangladesh badly as eventually Broom got out adding extra 97 runs. He and the Kiwi skipper put a record-breaking partnership of 179 runs and clearly snatched away the match from Bangladesh.  Kiwi skipper remained unbeaten on 95 runs.

Bangladesh will face New Zealand in three match T20 series which will commence from January 3.