Bangladesh lost to India in Semi Final

Bangladesh : 264/7 in 50 overs (Tamim 70, Mushfiqur 61, Mashrafe 30*, Jadhav 2/22, Bumrah 2/39, Kumar 2/53)

India : 265/1 in 40.1 overs (Rohit 123*, Kohli 96*, Dhawan 46, Mashrafe 1/29)

Result : India won by 9 wickets.


Bangladesh lost by 9 wickets against India in the second Semi-Final of ICC Champions Trophy 2017 at Edgbaston. India join Pakistan in the final on 18th June.

After winning the toss, Virat Kohli opted to bowl first. Bangladesh lost the wicket of Soumya Sarkar without scoring in the first over. Sabbir Rahman got the start but failed to carry the innings after scoring 19. But Tamim Iqbal and Mushfiqur Rahim’s 123 runs partnership in the 3rd wicket rescued Bangladesh from early damage.

Kedar Jadhav got rid of Tamim on 70. Ravindra Jadeja picked up the wicket of Shakib Al Hasan on 15. Soon Mushfiqur followed him and was dismissed after scoring  61. Despite Mahmudullah and Mosaddek Hossain’s little contribution, Bangladesh managed to post 264 for 7 thanks to skipper Mashrafe Bin Mortaza’s quickfire 30 off 25 balls. Kedar Jadhav, Jasprit Bumrah and Bhuvneshwar Kumar shared 2 wickets each.

In reply Shikhar Dhawan and Rohit Sharma gave a decent start of 87 runs in the opening stand. Mashrafe finally broke the partnership and picked up the wicket of Dhawan on 46. After that Virat Kohli and Rohit made an unbeaten 178 runs partnership in the 2nd wicket to secure a comprehensive 9 wicket victory in 40.1 overs.