Bangladesh start Nidahas Trophy with 6-wicket loss

Bangladesh : 139/8 in 20 overs (Liton 36, Sabbir 30, Mushfiqur 18; Udankat 3/38, Shankar 2/32, Chahal 1/19)

India : 140/4 in 18.4 overs (Dhawan 55, Raina 28, Manish 27*; Rubel 2/24, Taskin 1/28, Mustafizur 1/23)

Result : India won by 6 wickets.

Bangladesh started the Nidahas Trophy 2018 with a 8-wicket defeat against India at R.Premadasa Cricket Stadium, Colombo.

India won the toss and opted to bowl first. Both Tamim Iqbal and Soumya Sarkar got the start but failed to score big. Some tight bowling in the middle overs from the India bowlers restricted the run-rate of Bangladesh innings. Liton Kumar’s highest knock of 36 and Sabbir Rahman’s 30 helped the Tigers to post 139 for 8 in 20 overs. Jaydev Unadkat grabbed 3 wickets for 38.

Defending a low total, Bangladesh needed some early wickets to put the pressure on India. Mustafizur Rahman gave the early breakthrough by dismissing Rohit Shrama on 17. Couple of overs later Rubel Hossain bowled Rishabh Pant out on 7. Then Shikhar Dhawan and Suresh Raina made an partnership of 68 in the 3rd wicket. Rubel got rid of Raina on 27. Dhawan tried to hit clear the boundary but caught out on 55, Taskin was the bowler. Manish Pandey’s unbeaten knock of 27 runs sealed an comprehensive 6-wicket win for India with 8 balls in hand. Rubel grabbed 2 wickets for 24.

Bangladesh will face host Sri Lanka in the next match on March 10. Match will start from 7:30 pm (Bangladesh time).

Photo : ICC