Bangladesh start T-20 Series with 6 wickets defeat

Bangladesh : 155/6 in 20 overs (Mosaddek 34*, Mahmudullah 31, Soumya 29, Malinga 2/38, Prasanna 1/19, Gunaratne 1/24)

Sri Lanka : 158/4 in 18.5 overs (K. Perera 77, Tharanga 24, Prasanna 22*, Mashrafe 2/32, Taskin 33/1, Mahmudullah 0/6)

Result : Sri Lanka win by 6 wickets.


Sri Lanka beat Bangladesh by 6 wickets in the 1st T2OI at R. Premadasa International Cricket Stadium, Colombo and take 1-0 lead in the 2 match series.

Earlier Mashrafe Mortaza won the toss and decided to bat first before the match was delayed due to rain. Bangladesh didn’t have a ideal start as they lost the wicket of Tamim Iqbal in the second delivery of the first over of Malinga. Then Soumya Sarkar and Sabbir Rahman added 56 runs in the 2nd wicket. Sabbir was run out on 16. Soumya also went for 29 in the same over.

Asela Gunaratne bowled Mushfiqur Rahim out on 8. Couple of overs later Seekkuge Prasanna picked up the wicket of Shakib Al Hasan on 11. Then Mahmudullah and Mosaddek Hossain made a partnership of 57 in the 6th wicket. Malinga broke this partnership and got rid of Mahmudullah on 31.

Mosaddek was not on 34 with Mashrafe on 9 as Bangladesh posted 155 for 6 after 20 overs. Malinga picked up 2 wickets for 38.

In reply Upul Tharanga and Kusal Perera gave Sri Lanka a good start and made a partnership of 65 runs in the opening stand. Skipper Mashrafe Mortaza gave the first breakthrough to Bangladesh by dismissing Tharanga on 24. Mashrafe struck again in the next over and picked up the wicket of Dilshan Munaweera on 8.

Next batsman Asela Gunaratne was run out on 17. Kusal Perera departed for 77 when Sri lanka needed only 9 runs to win.

Second and the last match of the series will be held at the same ground on 6th April.