Bangladesh start T20I series with defeat

Pakistan Tour of Bangladesh 2021

Bangladesh vs Pakistan

First T20I

Venue : Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium

Toss : Bangladesh have won the toss and opted to bat first.

Bangladesh : 127/6 in 20 overs (Afif 36, Mahedi 30*, Nurul 28; Hasan Ali 3/22, Wasim 2/24, Shadab 1/20)

Pakistan : 132/6 in 19.2 overs (Khushdil 34, Fakhar 34, Shadab 21*; Taskin 2/31, Mahedi 1/17, Mustafizur 1/26)

Result : Pakistan won by 4 wickets.

Player of the Match : Hasan Ali.

The stage was well set for Bangladesh to start the series with a win but Pakistan snatched the first T20I with a thrilling 4-wicket win. The visitors lead the 3-match series 1-0. Second match of the series will be held on tomorrow (November 20).

Defending 127, Taskin Ahmed gave a dream start by removing Babar Azam on 7. Bowlers kept the pressure on from the other end they reduced Pakistan for 24 for 4. From there, Fakhar and Khushdil fought back for the visiting side with a 56 runs partnership. Finally it was Taskin again who gave the much needed breakthrough with the wicket of Fakhar on 34.

Shoriful Islam then dimissed Khushdil for 34 and brought the Tigers in the match. Pakistan needed 32 runs in the last 3 overs and it was the unbeaten 36-run stand between Shadab and Nawaz helped them over the line with 4 balls to spare.

Earlier, Mahmudullah won the toss and decided to bat first. Saif Hasan made his T20I debut but it was not the best one for him as he departed after scoring 1. Before him, his partner Naim Sheikh too gone cheaply. Najmul Hossain Shanto then dismissed for 7 as Bangladesh were in deep trouble on 15 for 3.

Then Afif Hossain revived the innings with a 34-ball 36-run knock. After his departure, Nurul Hasan played an important knock of 28. But it was Mahedi Hasan’s unbeaten cameo knock of 30 off just 20 balls to power Tigers to a fighting total of 127 for 7. Hasan Ali grabbed 3 wicket for 22 for Pakistan.