Bangladesh suffer defeat against England in Super 12

ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021

Bangladesh vs England

Group 1

Venue : Zayed Cricket Stadium, Abu Dhabi

Toss : Bangladesh won the toss and decided to field first.

Bangladesh : 124/9 in 20 overs (Mushfiqur 29, Nasum 19*, Mahmdullah 19; Mills 3/27, Livingstone 2/15, Moeen 2/18)

England : 126/2 in 14.1 overs (Roy 61, Malan 28*, Buttler 18; Shoriful 1/26, Nasum 1/26)

Result : England won by 8 wickets.

Player of the Match : Jason Roy.

Bangladesh suffered their second defeat in a row in Super 12 as England won the Group 1 clash by 8 wickets in Abu Dhabi. Tigers will play their next match on October 29 against West Indies.

Mahmudullah decided opted to bat first after winning the toss. Pacer Shoriful Islam came in the side replacing injured Mohammad Saifuddin.

Liton Kumar Das gave a solid start with 10 runs in the first over of Moeen. But from there, batsmen had  to struggle for runs as England bowlers maintained declined show in the power-play. Only Mushfiqur Rahim looked in touch before he got out for 29. Bangladesh were in deep trouble after losing 6 wickets for 83.

Then it was Nasum Ahmed unbeaten cameo 9-ball 19-run knock helped to post a respective total of 124 for 9. Tymal bagged 3 wickets for 27.

In reply, Roy hammered the bowlers from the start as England were scoring runs in a hurry. Nasum removed Buttler on 18 but Roy’s quickfire fifty made it easy for his side to seal the match with 8 wickets to spare. Shoriful Islam got his maiden T20 World Cup wicket by dismissing Roy for 61.