Bangladesh Women clinch historic Asia Cup Trophy

India Women : 112/9 in 20 overs (Harmanpreet 56*, Veda 11, Mithali 11; Rumana 2/22, Khadija 2/23, Jahanara 1/23)

Bangladesh Women : 113/7 in 20 overs (Nigar 27, Rumana 23, Ayasha 17; Poonam 4/9, Harmanpreet 2/19)

Result : Bangladesh Women won by 3 wicket

Player of the Match : Rumana Ahmed (Bangladesh).

Bangladesh Women’s team beat India Women by 3 wickets and become the new champion of Women’s Asia Cup T20 2018 at Kinrara Academy Oval, Kuala Lumpur. This is the first time Bangladesh have won the Asia Cup.

Skipper Salma Khatun opted to bowl first after winning the toss. Bangladeshi bowlers picked up couple of early wickets to put pressure on India. But Harmanpreet Kaur stood out and played an unbeaten knock of 56 to guide her team to post 112 for 9 in 20 overs. Rumana and Khadija bagged two wickets each.

Chasing 113, Shamina and Ayasha gave Bangladesh a good start with the opening stand of 35. After losing both of them in the seventh over, Fargrana also departed early. Then Nigar and Rumana came to rescue.

Nigar was dismissed after scoring 27. But Rumana stayed at the crease till the 20th over before run out on 23 when Bangladesh needed 2 runs from 1 ball. Jahanara took 2 runs in the last ball to give Tigerss a historic victory. Poonam Pandey took 4 wickets for 9 for India.

Rumana Ahmed was named Player of the Match for her all-round heroics.