Challengers maintain their winning run in BBPL 2019

Bangabandhu BPL T20 2019

Match 12

Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium

Chattogram Challengers vs Dhaka Platoon

Chattogram Challangers : 221/4 in 20 overs (Mahmudullah 59, Simmons 57, Imrul 40; Hasan 2/55, Sakil 1/27)

Dhaka Platoon : 205/10 in 20 overs (Mominul 52, Thisara 47, Jaker Ali 27; Mehedi Hasan 3/23, Muktar Ali 3/42, Kesrick 2/48)

Result : Chattogram Challengers won by 16 runs.

Player of the Match : Mehedi Hasan Rana.

A dominating Chattogram Challengers defeated Dhaka Platoon in a high-scoring encounter in the second day of Chattogram phase of Bangabandhu BPL T20 2019. With the victory, the Challengers strengthed their position in the points table with 8 points from 5 matches.

Batting first, Mahmudullah’s team posted the third highest ever total of BPL history of 221 for 4. Skipper Mahmudullah led his side from the front with a 59-run knock. Opener Lendl Simmons kept his good form with fifty and then Imrul chipped in with 40 runs knock to power Chattogram to post a mammoth total on the board. Hasan Mahmud claimed 2 wickets for 55 for Dhaka.

In response, the Platoon needed an explosive start which they got from Mominul Haque and Jaker Ali in the power-play. Then Muktar Ali brought his side to the game by picking up couple of important wickets in the middle overs. After the dismissal of Mominul on 52, it was all-rounder Thisara Perera who fought till the end for Dhaka.

Mashrafe Bin Mortaza played an cameo knock of 23 off just 6 balls as it was at the end proved too much for the Platoon to chase down their target. They were eventually bowled out for 205 on the last ball of final over of the match. Player of the match Mehedi Hasan Rana and Muktar Ali both shared 3 wickets each for the Challengers.