Dhaka defeat Barishal in a low-scoring encounter

Bangabandhu T20 Cup 2020

Match 9

Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium

Beximco Dhaka vs Fortune Barishal

Toss : Beximco Dhaka won the toss and elected to bowl first.

Fortune Barishal : 108/8 in 20 overs (Towhid 33, Tamim 31, Mehidy 12; Robi 4/20, Shafiqul 2/10, Rubel 1/30)

Beximco Dhaka : 109/3 in 18.5 overs (Yasir Ali 44*, Mushfiqur 23*, Tanzid 22; Mehidy 1/13)

Result : Beximco Dhaka won by 7 wickets.

Player of the Match : Robiul Islam Robi.

Beximco Dhaka finally sealed their first win in Bangabandhu T20 Cup 2020 after suffering three defeats in the first three matches. Dhaka successfully chased down the target of 109 set by Fortune Barishal thanks to Robiul Islam’s 4-fer. Despite the win, Dhaka remains at the bottom of the points table with 2 points.

Robiul who had a great day with the ball failed to maintain the same with the bat as he got run out on 2. His partner Naim Sheikh also depurated early on 13. Mushfiqur Rahim then anchored the Dhaka chase with unbeaten 23. But it was Yasir Ali who made the difference for with his 30-ball 40-run unbeaten knock. Dhaka won the match in 18.5 overs with 7 wickets remaining.

Earlier of the day, Barishal struggled in their start from the start as they kept losing wickets in regular intervals. Skipper Tamim Iqbal and Towhid Hridoy were the only two batsmen who managed to put some effort against the Dhaka bowlers. Tamim was dismissed after scoring 31 while Towhid scored 33 as Barishal ended 20 overs posting 108 for 8. Robiul Islam Robi was the standout bowler for Dhaka with 4 wickets for 20.

Barishal will face Gemcon Khulna on December 2 with the rescheduled time of 11:30 am. Dhaka will meet Gezi Group Chattogram in the second match of day at 4:30 pm.